Home > Abusive relationships, Borderline Personality Disorder, divorce, Marriage, Narcissistic Personality Disorder, Parental Alienation, Psychology, relationships > Is Divorce Less Harmful to Children Than Exposing Them to Ongoing Spousal or Partner Abuse?

Is Divorce Less Harmful to Children Than Exposing Them to Ongoing Spousal or Partner Abuse?


There’s a new article on www.shrink4men.com. This articles explores how abuse negatively affects children by citing research showing that stress is a harmful neurotoxin during childhood brain development, the impossible predicament fathers find themselves in when they are the target of an abusive female partner and the double-standards and female gender bias prevalent in family law.

Here’s the link:

Rudeness, Stress and Abuse are Neurotoxins: Children Who Witness Parental Abuse Are at Risk

Kind Regards,

Dr Tara J. Palmatier, PsyD

  1. carson davis
    February 20, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Living with wife with BPD, going to christian counseling, counselor suggested separation with both of us, but she said she didn’t go to a counsel to suggest being separated. I went cause hoped would help in some way but have my doubts. I am so tired and feel I’m a basket case myself. I beginning to question my sanity.
    The years have taken a toil on me an I’ve given to cannot give anymore, have built up a wall around myself to survive here, feel it is making me bitter. Any suggestions would be welcomed.
    thankyou
    Carson

    • Mellairl
      February 21, 2011 at 12:25 am

      Sorry to hear about your marriage. Keep reading the and check out the forum. It’s a great place to learn about things from people who’ve been there in a non-judgmental, non-threatening environment.

      There’s a lot of good information here.

  2. Jim Ward
    January 13, 2011 at 4:34 am

    Reading through your site has been a real big help. Even though she’s doing better now my mother was a classic BPD. We (my 4 brothers, sister and I) never knew when or why the next tirade would happen. Lots of screaming, name calling, physical abuse and a good dose of “I hate you”. It’s hard to say that if my parents had split up that things would have been better but I think there would have been more peace away from my mother. Now, I occasionally suffer from PTSD whenever I hear a screaming or nagging woman. The 1980 movie Ordinary People about sent me into a full blown breakdown. Through it all I ended up picking not one but two women who were just like my mother with the second being worse than the first. (I once received a full-on nagging when I didn’t rotate the toilet paper…old in the front, new in the back). But with three years of counselling and group therapy I am doing much better. It’s been a long, long road but now I’m more at peace, more confident, and more accepting of who I am.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

