Home > relationships > A Funny, But Honest Valentine’s Day Card

A Funny, But Honest Valentine’s Day Card


This is quite possibly the most honest Valentine’s Day card I’ve ever seen. I’m usually not one for greeting cards, but I’d definitely give this to someone special in my life. The original source is xkcd.com. Smart and funny stuff!

valentine1

Counseling, Consulting and Coaching with Dr. Tara J. Palmatier, PsyD

Dr. Tara J. Palmatier, PsyD helps individuals work through their relationship and codependency issues via telephone or Skype. She specializes in helping men and women trying to break free of an abusive relationship, cope with the stress of an abusive relationship or heal from an abusive relationship. She combines practical advice, emotional support and goal-oriented outcomes. Please visit the Schedule a Session page for professional inquiries or send an email to shrink4men@gmail.com.

Want to Say Goodbye to Crazy? Buy it HERE.

Donations

If you find the information I provide free of charge helpful and valuable here on Shrink4Men, please consider making a donation via PayPal to help me maintain the site.

Also check out:

  1. Mellaril
    February 3, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    For the ex-BPD/NPD (that doesn’t require a “No Contact” policy or restraining order)in your life, I recommend getting her a copy of Dylan’s Positively 4th Street and the card “Dysfunction” from http://WWW.DESPAIR.COM,

    “DYSFUNCTION”
    “The only consistent feature in all of your dissatisfying relationships is you”

    They also have a line of Candy called “Bittersweets.”

    From the Despair.com Website:

    “Truly, Bittersweets® are the perfect gift for you OR for someone you love, especially if that special someone is one who doesn’t want to hurt your feelings but just doesn’t feel that way about you but still wants to be friends so they can torment you with stories about their crushes on someone who doesn’t appreciate them like you do, can’t love them like you can, and actually takes pleasure in corralling a herd of fawning “just friends” behind themselves as they indulge in one self-destructive relationship after another, with no hope of ever finding true love, despite an army of souls eager to lavish it upon them.

    (You know what we’re talking about.)

    Supplies are limited. But the pain that accompanies them may not be. ”

    Living well may be the best revenge but sometimes a little more may be necessary.

    In addition to making the statement, the idea that you may find them funny and no longer being taken seriously will spin them up.

    I wish I would have had them available at the time.

    • shrink4men
      February 4, 2010 at 4:53 pm

      Hi Mellaril,

      I LOVE Despair.com. I’ve been a fan of the site and merch for almost 10 years now. It’s dark, but it always makes me chuckle. I used to have their demotivational posters as my screen saver at the last clinic I worked for. Good stuff. Here are some of my all time faves:

      Destiny at Despair.com
      You were meant for me. Perhaps as a punishment.

      Dysfunction at Despair.com
      The only consistent feature in all of your dissatisfying relationships is you.

      Incompetence
      When you earnestly believe you can compensate for a lack of skill by doubling your efforts, there’s no end to what you can’t do.

      Meetings
      None of us is as dumb as all of us.

      Mistakes
      It could be that the purpose of your life is only to serve as a warning to others.

      Opportunity
      I am Dr. Adewole Aremu- a director with the Union Bank of Nigeria in Lagos – and I wish to speak to you most urgently about a matter regarding the sum of $39,000,000 US Dollars…

      Potential
      Not everyone gets to be an astronaut when they grow up.

      Self-Esteem
      Just because you think you’re a star doesn’t mean you’re going anywhere.

  2. thingy
    September 20, 2009 at 3:17 am

    lol that’s good; reminds me of this one :)

    http://xkcd.com/223/

    • shrink4men
      September 20, 2009 at 12:39 pm

      Love the link. Very funny.

  3. Corgi
    February 9, 2009 at 5:23 am

    This is the source of this comic. http://xkcd.com/63/

    • shrink4men
      February 9, 2009 at 5:41 am

      Thanks, Corgi! I just appended the body of the post to reflect the original source. Jamie sent the home page link a couple days ago, but I didn’t have time to search through the site. Thanks again for posting the direct link. I love this guy’s site. In fact, I’m going to add it to my blog roll.

      Best,
      Dr T

  4. Jamie
    February 6, 2009 at 1:32 am

    That’s actually a comic from the webcomic http://www.xkcd.com
    That guy is brilliant.
    And a side note: That was the card a received last year for valentines day.

    • shrink4men
      February 6, 2009 at 1:43 am

      Hi Jamie,

      Thanks for checking out my blog and leaving a comment. Thanks also for providing the source for that card. I’ll definitely check it out and list his site in the photo credits. I love that someone actually gave it as a card. It warms the cockles of my heart!

      Thanks,
      Dr T

  5. February 5, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Love the male locker room type honesty but any guy that uses this approach will only be seeing naked ladies on the web come Valentines Day.

    • shrink4men
      February 5, 2009 at 7:38 pm

      Hi Matt,

      Good observation. Although, I’m going to make a homemade copy of it and give it to my bf whom I love and respect completely. Thank goodness he has as dark a sense of humor as me!

      T

  6. bluesmokeofparadise
    February 5, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Honest, indeed.

    And certainly very much in keeping with your audience, “professional men in complicated relationships and dissatisfying careers combining psychology, insight, humor, irony, sexuality, and social commentary.”

    Self-reflexive obviously has little to do with awareness.

    • shrink4men
      February 5, 2009 at 5:31 pm

      Part of being aware is being able to laugh at yourself. Otherwise, you run the risk of taking yourself too seriously, a trap into which many intellectuals and lesser souls fall. . . indeed.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  1. December 17, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Leave a comment